Why do railroads pull cars not from their own company?

Railroadforums.com is a free online Railroad Discussion Forum and Railroad Photo Gallery for railroaders, railfans, model railroaders and anyone else who is interested in railroads. We cover a wide variety of topics, including freight trains, passenger and commuter railroads, rail news and information, tourist railroads, railway museums and railroad history.

punchy71

Greetings,
I am new to the world of railroading. I read recently that any given railroad's trains will usually or most likely be pulling a majority of their own cars, labeled and scripted with their own name. Example: a BNSF train of mixed freight with a train made up of mixed car types the majority of the cars will be painted with the BNSF logo. A minority of the cars will be non-BNSF cars. This made sense to me. What doesn't make sense to me (and what the article didn't say) is why would any given railroad be pulling a minority of some other railroad's cars in their train in the first place? Why not just have each railroad pulling trains consisting of ONLY cars from their own railroad company? This is something I've often wondered about and just simply don't know the answer to.
Thank you

Because not every railroad goes to every destination. A carload of widgets might move over 2-3 different railroads before it gets to where it needs to go.

Greetings,
I am new to the world of railroading. I read recently that any given railroad's trains will usually or most likely be pulling a majority of their own cars, labeled and scripted with their own name. Example: a BNSF train of mixed freight with a train made up of mixed car types the majority of the cars will be painted with the BNSF logo. A minority of the cars will be non-BNSF cars.