"Tracking" Abandoned Rights-of-Way

Railroadforums.com is a free online Railroad Discussion Forum and Railroad Photo Gallery for railroaders, railfans, model railroaders and anyone else who is interested in railroads. We cover a wide variety of topics, including freight trains, passenger and commuter railroads, rail news and information, tourist railroads, railway museums and railroad history.

Hi folks,

I am a brand-new member of the forum. I am not a railroad expert by any stretch but I have loved trains since I was a very young child. I am fascinated by abandoned rail lines. I have read about folks researching old records at county courthouses and libraries as a source of information.

I thought that I would share with you one way that I have been able to research abandoned rail rights-of-way:

I am a pilot and aviators (for VFR navigation) use what are known as "sectional charts". For visual navigation, they allow pilots to identify physical features on the ground including towns, highways, rivers, and yes, railroads. Sectionals will also show abandoned rails with dashed lines since the rights-of-way can be used as visual landmarks for years after the rails are removed.

Although I was born in Ohio (B&O country), I have lived most of my life in Florida (since the late-60's). I also learned to fly in Florida back in the late-80's. I still have some of my old sectional charts from that era and thought that having even OLDER sectionals would help me to determine exact locations of former lines.

About a year ago, I found someone who was selling sectionals from the 1960's. I was able to pick up a 1963 Miami sectional (which covers most of FL south of Tampa) and 1966 charts for Orlando and Jacksonville. The JAX chart covers area of southern GA to about Alma. These charts show a ton of rail lines which no longer exist including a maze of lines in the phosphate mining areas south of Lakeland.