The Temple of Steam Chama, NM Oct. 6, 2016

Railroadforums.com is a free online Railroad Discussion Forum and Railroad Photo Gallery for railroaders, railfans, model railroaders and anyone else who is interested in railroads. We cover a wide variety of topics, including freight trains, passenger and commuter railroads, rail news and information, tourist railroads, railway museums and railroad history.

CGW101c

CGW Fan
The history of railroads in the Rocky Mountains comes alive on the Cumbres and Toltec. Sounds like a tag line from a commercial doesn't it. If you count the trips to the CB&Q station in Downers Grove Illinois in the 1950's to watch my dad go to work, I have been railfaning for over 60 years. But this year was the first time at the Cumbres and Toltec in Chama,NM. Not because I didn't want to go, just never made the time. I had the opportunity to do it this month. Wow! What a great experience. I drove from Omaha to Denver on Wednesday the 5th. Denver to Chama on the 6th. Rode the train on the 7th and headed home on the 8th. I woke up way early and left for Denver at 4 am. Got to the mile high city around noon and took up quick trip to Georgetown. Met the train coming back to Georgetown and then worked my way to south Denver for my overnight. Next morning off to Chama. A stop in Alamosa to see what the SL&RG was up to. Not much but they have a large amount of equipment there. Headed south and got into the fall colors after Antonito. Met the C&TS just down from Windy Point on the south side of Cumbres Pass.

RRF_GLRR130_100616.jpg Georgetown, CO

RRF Alamosa_1_100616.jpgAlamosa, CO

RRF Alamosa_2_100616.jpgAlamosa, CO

RRF Alamosa_3_100616.jpgAlamosa, CO

Fall colors as you head along the Conejos River and up to Cumbres Pass. The railroad avoids this steep climb by going to the east and south and then turning west along the Los Pinos River from Antonito.

RRF Conejos_100616.jpgThe Conejos River

RRF Riding in Style_100616.jpgRiding in Style