The Golden State Limited

Railroadforums.com is a free online Railroad Discussion Forum and Railroad Photo Gallery for railroaders, railfans, model railroaders and anyone else who is interested in railroads. We cover a wide variety of topics, including freight trains, passenger and commuter railroads, rail news and information, tourist railroads, railway museums and railroad history.

sarahz

Good evening.

I am brand new to this forum, and I'm here looking for the answer to a very specific historical question. Please accept my apologies if this is not the right place to ask.

My name is Sarah Zettel, and I'm an author. I'm at work on a series of young adult novels set in 1935, and I'm stuck looking for a detail. I want my characters to take the Golden State Limited from Los Angeles to Chicago. What I cannot find out is the name, or location of the station the Golden State Limited would have left Los Angeles from in 1935. All the references I can find only name Union Station, but that was not built until 1939, and I do know (at least I think I know) the Golden State Limited was running in '35. I was wondering if anyone here might know what station it would have used, or have an idea where I might find the answer. Thank you for your help.

muralist0221

On the other end, the Golden State left from LaSalle St. Station in Chicago. Saw the Golden State a number of times, but never rode it. It was supposed to be the Golden Rocket, a collaboration between Rock Island and Southern Pacific, but SP backed out. The equipment had already been ordered and ended up on the Golden State. AH, the memories

sarahz

Thanks, that confirms what I've read. It was a lot easier to find information about the Chicago stations of the period than the L.A. stations, which probably will not surprise anybody here.

lcar4000

Golden State