Telegraph Lines

Railroadforums.com is a free online Railroad Discussion Forum and Railroad Photo Gallery for railroaders, railfans, model railroaders and anyone else who is interested in railroads. We cover a wide variety of topics, including freight trains, passenger and commuter railroads, rail news and information, tourist railroads, railway museums and railroad history.

Golfcoach

I am a novice railroad enthusiast.
While driving west out of St. Louis on I-70 there is a rail line that parallels much of the highway.
I am puzzled by the frequent occurrence of installation of fresh telegraph poles and cross members? It is obvious that many of the wires are hanging on the ground. Why does the railroad maintain these poles?
Thanks
Ed:confused:

Golfcoach

I'm in the dark

I was inquiring about the upkeep of telegraph poles. Your response was "signal circuits". I'd appreciate if you would expound.
Thanks
Ed:rolleyes:

roee

They are telegraph poles, they are signal poles. Some signal circuits still use pole line to convey information. Also some of them are used for AC Power. There use to be much more carried by the wires, but I'm sure some have been abandoned.

Pat

Photo Critiques Welcome
The older automatic block signal systems were hard wired. Conditions in the blocks, interlocking etc were transmitted some distance down the track to the other signals, potentially miles, by wires on the pole lines. It sounds like some remnants of a hard wired system are still in service and the poles are being maintained. The pole lines were expensive to maintain. Newer systems make a greater use of buried cable and radio frequency.

Golfcoach

Signal Poles