Railroad Watch Question

Railroadforums.com is a free online Railroad Discussion Forum and Railroad Photo Gallery for railroaders, railfans, model railroaders and anyone else who is interested in railroads. We cover a wide variety of topics, including freight trains, passenger and commuter railroads, rail news and information, tourist railroads, railway museums and railroad history.

Sean R Das

Railfan
MODS: If this doesn't belong here, please feel free to move it.

I am a new trainee at the Northwest Railway Museum for a train crew position. I was told I needed an accurate watch--as their rule book states, "with a sweep second hand and that is able to display the correct time with a variation of no more than 30 seconds in 24 hours." I did pick up a replica pocket watch from the museum gift shop a month ago, but the guy I worked with said that it wasn't a "real watch."

I looked on the internet and I saw several accurate watches, but they cost hundreds if not thousands of dollars, which is way out of my budget (you are talking to a jobless recipient of SSDI and food stamps here). I was discussing this with someone and they said that most modern quartz watches are very accurate, but I don't believe him.

What do I do about this problem? I don't have 3 or 4 figures to invest in a high-end watch, but I don't want to end my career as a train crew volunteer at the museum. SO what do I do?

I did pick up a replica pocket watch from the museum gift shop a month ago, but the guy I worked with said that it wasn't a "real watch."

Does he want you to have a wrist watch? Any watch that has a second hand should be fine. I've never heard of the requirement for a sweeping second hand, just needs a second hand.