new member looking for knowledge

Railroadforums.com is a free online Railroad Discussion Forum and Railroad Photo Gallery for railroaders, railfans, model railroaders and anyone else who is interested in railroads. We cover a wide variety of topics, including freight trains, passenger and commuter railroads, rail news and information, tourist railroads, railway museums and railroad history.

RMIbob

My question is 'Why would you ever want the same rule 11 party to be used for different BL segments in a waybill?'

First a little background for this question. I am a programmer that helps build and maintain rating and billing software that is used extensively by shortline railroads. I never had railroading experience and i have picked up what i have over the last couple of years by fixing and maintaining this software. I have been reading Ed's posts on the business side of railroads. (amazing thank you Ed. i felt like i found a pot of gold when I stumbled upon them, It's one thing to work from a Specification when writing this stuff but to understand the reasons why, makes life so much easier. So i big thank you!). I wish i had found your posts a couple of years ago!

Rob

Ed Sand

General Idiot
Thanks Rob, glad you've found them helpful.

In answer to your question, keep in mind the main purpose behind Rule 11 is to keep the different railroads in each of the different break points/children (BL segments in 426 speak) clueless as to what the rates are in each child segment. The freight payor then negotiates a rate for each segment thinking he can get a better deal by negotiating with each railroad individually rather than simply relying on his originating carrier to give him one through rate.