Howdy from Central Illinois

Railroadforums.com is a free online Railroad Discussion Forum and Railroad Photo Gallery for railroaders, railfans, model railroaders and anyone else who is interested in railroads. We cover a wide variety of topics, including freight trains, passenger and commuter railroads, rail news and information, tourist railroads, railway museums and railroad history.

Mister

I am new to this forum and I look forward to discussions with people who work or have worked for freight rail operations. It looks like the railroads are hiring people in my area. I have been a truck driver for 15 years and have a perfect safety record. I know a truck isn't a train... but, I am in pretty good shape and am considering a leap from asphalt to the steel rails. Thanks for any ideas or info. I have been a fan of trains since I was about 5 years old. Every summer my mother would take my sister and I to Seattle to visit my grandpa. In the early years it was the "Abraham Lincoln" by GM&O up to chicago. Then it was either the "Empire Builder" by Great Northern or the "North Coast Limited" by Northern Pacific. I think these names are right. And later Amtrak. It was always an adventure to ride the train as a child.

Midsouth fan

Engr/'duc/brkmn/DS
Welcome to the forum. If you're looking to work for a class 1 RR (UP, BNSF, CSXT, NS, CN, etc), be ready to be on call 24/7/366 (yes, I'm including leap years also), and ready to report to work any and all hours of the day and night. If that's not what you want, maybe you can get a job with a shortline, but it can be harder to get hired by them.

I work for a shortline, and I LOVE it. I've been blessed to have such a job, but I also have lots of friends who work for a class 1, which is why I know about the lifestyle, and why I'm glad I don't work for one.

I wish you all of the best with your career pursuits!

MarkJL

Railfan Railroader